Chief executives

The Chief Executive is the head of the Council’s paid staff and its principal adviser on policy matters. The Chief Executive has the responsibility for ensuring the efficient, effective and equitable discharge of Council strategy and responsibilities.  

A chief executives chart can be downloaded here.

Councilsort icon Chief Executive
Aberdeen City Council Angela Scott
Aberdeenshire Council Jim Savege
Angus Council Margo Williamson
Argyll and Bute Council Cleland Sneddon
City of Edinburgh Council Andrew Kerr
Clackmannanshire Council Elaine McPherson
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Malcolm Burr
Dumfries and Galloway Council Gavin Stevenson
Dundee City Council David Martin
East Ayrshire Council Fiona Lees
East Dunbartonshire Council Gerry Cornes
East Lothian Council Angela Leitch
East Renfrewshire Council Lorraine McMillan
Falkirk Council Mary Pitcaithly
Fife Council Steve Grimmond
Glasgow City Council Annemarie O'Donnell
Highland Council Steve Barron
Inverclyde Council Aubrey Fawcett
Midlothian Council Kenneth Lawrie
Moray Council Roddy Burns
North Ayrshire Council Elma Murray
North Lanarkshire Council Paul Jukes
Orkney Islands Council Alistair Buchan
Perth and Kinross Council Karen Reid
Renfrewshire Council Sandra Black
Scottish Borders Council Tracey Logan
Shetland Islands Council Maggie Sandison
South Ayrshire Council Eileen Howat
South Lanarkshire Council Lindsay Freeland
Stirling Council Stewart Carruth
West Dunbartonshire Council Joyce White
West Lothian Council Graham Hope