Chief executives

The Chief Executive is the head of the Council’s paid staff and its principal adviser on policy matters. The Chief Executive has the responsibility for ensuring the efficient, effective and equitable discharge of Council strategy and responsibilities.  

A chief executives chart can be downloaded here.

Council Chief Executivesort icon
Orkney Islands Council Alistair Buchan
City of Edinburgh Council Andrew Kerr
East Lothian Council Angela Leitch
Aberdeen City Council Angela Scott
Glasgow City Council Annemarie O'Donnell
Inverclyde Council Aubrey Fawcett
Argyll and Bute Council Cleland Sneddon
Dundee City Council David Martin
South Ayrshire Council Eileen Howat
Clackmannanshire Council Elaine McPherson
North Ayrshire Council Elma Murray
East Ayrshire Council Fiona Lees
Dumfries and Galloway Council Gavin Stevenson
East Dunbartonshire Council Gerry Cornes
West Lothian Council Graham Hope
Aberdeenshire Council Jim Savege
West Dunbartonshire Council Joyce White
Perth and Kinross Council Karen Reid
Midlothian Council Kenneth Lawrie
South Lanarkshire Council Lindsay Freeland
East Renfrewshire Council Lorraine McMillan
Shetland Islands Council Maggie Sandison
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Malcolm Burr
Angus Council Margo Williamson
Falkirk Council Mary Pitcaithly
North Lanarkshire Council Paul Jukes
Moray Council Roddy Burns
Renfrewshire Council Sandra Black
Highland Council Steve Barron
Fife Council Steve Grimmond
Stirling Council Stewart Carruth
Scottish Borders Council Tracey Logan