Chief executives

The Chief Executive is the head of the Council’s paid staff and its principal adviser on policy matters. The Chief Executive has the responsibility for ensuring the efficient, effective and equitable discharge of Council strategy and responsibilities.  

A chief executives chart can be downloaded here.

Councilsort icon Chief Executive
West Lothian Council Graham Hope
West Dunbartonshire Council Joyce White
Stirling Council Carol Beattie (Interim)
South Lanarkshire Council Lindsay Freeland
South Ayrshire Council Eileen Howat
Shetland Islands Council Maggie Sandison
Scottish Borders Council Tracey Logan
Renfrewshire Council Sandra Black
Perth and Kinross Council Karen Reid
Orkney Islands Council Alistair Buchan
North Lanarkshire Council Des Murray
North Ayrshire Council Craig Hatton
Moray Council Roddy Burns
Midlothian Council Dr Grace Vickers
Inverclyde Council Aubrey Fawcett
Highland Council Donna Manson
Glasgow City Council Annemarie O'Donnell
Fife Council Steve Grimmond
Falkirk Council Kenneth Lawrie
East Renfrewshire Council Lorraine McMillan
East Lothian Council Angela Leitch
East Dunbartonshire Council Gerry Cornes
East Ayrshire Council Fiona Lees
Dundee City Council David Martin
Dumfries and Galloway Council Gavin Stevenson
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Malcolm Burr
Clackmannanshire Council Nikki Bridle
City of Edinburgh Council Andrew Kerr
Argyll and Bute Council Cleland Sneddon
Angus Council Margo Williamson
Aberdeenshire Council Jim Savege
Aberdeen City Council Angela Scott