Council leaders

Each local authority in Scotland is governed by a Council.  Following the May 2017 elections, councillors have been elected until 2022.  These elected members are headed by the Leader of the Council, typically the leader of the largest single political grouping in the Council. 

A leader chart can be downloaded here.

Councilsort icon Council Leader
Aberdeen City Council Douglas Lumsden & Jenny Laing
Aberdeenshire Council Jim Gifford
Angus Council Bob Myles
Argyll and Bute Council Aileen Morton
City of Edinburgh Council Adam McVey
Clackmannanshire Council Les Sharp
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Roddie Mackay
Dumfries and Galloway Council Elaine Murray
Dundee City Council John Alexander
East Ayrshire Council Douglas Reid
East Dunbartonshire Council Vacant
East Lothian Council Willie Innes
East Renfrewshire Council Tony Buchanan
Falkirk Council Cecil Meiklejohn
Fife Council David Ross & David Alexander
Glasgow City Council Susan Aitken
Highland Council Margaret Davidson
Inverclyde Council Stephen McCabe
Midlothian Council Derek Milligan
Moray Council George Alexander
North Ayrshire Council Joe Cullinane
North Lanarkshire Council Jim Logue
Orkney Islands Council James Stockan
Perth and Kinross Council Ian Campbell
Renfrewshire Council Iain Nicolson
Scottish Borders Council Shona Haslam
Shetland Islands Council Cecil Smith
South Ayrshire Council Douglas Campbell
South Lanarkshire Council John Ross
Stirling Council Scott Farmer
West Dunbartonshire Council Jonathan McColl
West Lothian Council Lawrence Fitzpatrick