Council leaders

Each local authority in Scotland is governed by a Council.  Following the May 2017 elections, councillors have been elected until 2022.  These elected members are headed by the Leader of the Council, typically the leader of the largest single political grouping in the Council. 

A leader chart can be downloaded here.

Council Council Leadersort icon
Orkney Islands Council James Stockan
City of Edinburgh Council Adam McVey
Argyll and Bute Council Aileen Morton
Angus Council Bob Myles
Falkirk Council Cecil Meiklejohn
Shetland Islands Council Cecil Smith
Fife Council David Ross & David Alexander
Midlothian Council Derek Milligan
South Ayrshire Council Douglas Campbell
Aberdeen City Council Douglas Lumsden & Jenny Laing
East Ayrshire Council Douglas Reid
Dumfries and Galloway Council Elaine Murray
Moray Council George Alexander
Renfrewshire Council Iain Nicolson
Aberdeenshire Council Jim Gifford
North Lanarkshire Council Jim Logue
North Ayrshire Council Joe Cullinane
Dundee City Council John Alexander
South Lanarkshire Council John Ross
West Dunbartonshire Council Jonathan McColl
West Lothian Council Lawrence Fitzpatrick
Clackmannanshire Council Les Sharp
Highland Council Margaret Davidson
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Roddie Mackay
Stirling Council Scott Farmer
Scottish Borders Council Shona Haslam
Inverclyde Council Stephen McCabe
Glasgow City Council Susan Aitken
East Renfrewshire Council Tony Buchanan
East Dunbartonshire Council Vacant
Perth and Kinross Council Vacant
East Lothian Council Willie Innes