Council leaders

Each local authority in Scotland is governed by a Council.  Following the May 2017 elections, councillors have been elected until 2022.  These elected members are headed by the Leader of the Council, typically the leader of the largest single political grouping in the Council. 

A leader chart can be downloaded here.

Council Council Leadersort icon
East Lothian Council Willie Innes
East Renfrewshire Council Tony Buchanan
Glasgow City Council Susan Aitken
Shetland Islands Council Steven Coutts
Inverclyde Council Stephen McCabe
Scottish Borders Council Shona Haslam
Stirling Council Scott Farmer
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Roddie Mackay
Perth and Kinross Council Murray Lyle
Highland Council Margaret Davidson
West Lothian Council Lawrence Fitzpatrick
West Dunbartonshire Council Jonathan McColl
South Lanarkshire Council John Ross
Dundee City Council John Alexander
North Ayrshire Council Joe Cullinane
North Lanarkshire Council Jim Logue
Aberdeenshire Council Jim Gifford
Renfrewshire Council Iain Nicolson
Moray Council Graham Leadbitter
Clackmannanshire Council Ellen Forson
Dumfries and Galloway Council Elaine Murray & Rob Davidson
East Ayrshire Council Douglas Reid
Aberdeen City Council Douglas Lumsden & Jenny Laing
South Ayrshire Council Douglas Campbell
Midlothian Council Derek Milligan
Fife Council David Ross & David Alexander
Angus Council David Fairweather
Falkirk Council Cecil Meiklejohn
East Dunbartonshire Council Andrew Polson & Vaughan Moody
Argyll and Bute Council Aileen Morton
City of Edinburgh Council Adam McVey
Orkney Islands Council James Stockan