Council leaders

Each local authority in Scotland is governed by a Council.  Following the May 2017 elections, councillors have been elected until 2022.  These elected members are headed by the Leader of the Council, typically the leader of the largest single political grouping in the Council. 

A leader chart can be downloaded here.

Councilsort icon Council Leader
West Lothian Council Lawrence Fitzpatrick
West Dunbartonshire Council Jonathan McColl
Stirling Council Scott Farmer
South Lanarkshire Council John Ross
South Ayrshire Council Douglas Campbell
Shetland Islands Council Steven Coutts
Scottish Borders Council Shona Haslam
Renfrewshire Council Iain Nicolson
Perth and Kinross Council Murray Lyle
Orkney Islands Council James Stockan
North Lanarkshire Council Jim Logue
North Ayrshire Council Joe Cullinane
Moray Council Graham Leadbitter
Midlothian Council Derek Milligan
Inverclyde Council Stephen McCabe
Highland Council Margaret Davidson
Glasgow City Council Susan Aitken
Fife Council David Ross & David Alexander
Falkirk Council Cecil Meiklejohn
East Renfrewshire Council Tony Buchanan
East Lothian Council Willie Innes
East Dunbartonshire Council Andrew Polson & Vaughan Moody
East Ayrshire Council Douglas Reid
Dundee City Council John Alexander
Dumfries and Galloway Council Elaine Murray & Rob Davidson
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Roddie Mackay
Clackmannanshire Council Ellen Forson
City of Edinburgh Council Adam McVey
Argyll and Bute Council Aileen Morton
Angus Council David Fairweather
Aberdeenshire Council Jim Gifford
Aberdeen City Council Douglas Lumsden & Jenny Laing