Political control

Please note the following information is being updated as soon as possible to reflect the results of the Scottish Local Government elections held on 4 May 2017.                                                                     


Councilsort icon Political control
Aberdeen City Council CON & IND Coalition
Aberdeenshire Council CON, SLD, IND Coalition
Angus Council IND, CON, SLD Coalition
Argyll and Bute Council CON, SLD, IND Coalition
City of Edinburgh Council SNP, LAB Coalition
Clackmannanshire Council SNP Minority
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar IND
Dumfries and Galloway Council LAB, SNP Coalition
Dundee City Council SNP, IND Coalition
East Ayrshire Council SNP Minority
East Dunbartonshire Council SNP Minority
East Lothian Council LAB Minority
East Renfrewshire Council SNP, IND, LAB Coalition
Falkirk Council SNP Minority
Fife Council SNP, LAB Joint Leadership
Glasgow City Council SNP Minority
Highland Council IND, SLD, LAB Coalition
Inverclyde Council LAB minority
Midlothian Council LAB Minority
Moray Council IND, CON Coalition
North Ayrshire Council LAB Minority
North Lanarkshire Council LAB Minority
Orkney Islands Council IND
Perth and Kinross Council CON, SLD, IND Coalition
Renfrewshire Council SNP Minority
Scottish Borders Council CON, IND Coalition
Shetland Islands Council IND
South Ayrshire Council SNP, LAB, IND Partnership Working Arrangement
South Lanarkshire Council SNP Minority
Stirling Council SNP, LAB Coalition
West Dunbartonshire Council SNP, IND Coalition
West Lothian Council Labour Minority