

Private and Confidential

DRAFT MINUTE OF SPECIAL LEADERS MEETING

Wednesday 27 October 2021, 4.45pm Via Microsoft Teams

Present

Aberdeen City Council Councillor Jenny Laing

Aberdeen City Council Angela Scott

Aberdeenshire Council Councillor Andy Kille

Aberdeenshire Council Jim Savege

Angus Council Councillor David Fairweather

Angus Council Margo Williamson

Argyll and Bute Council Councillor Gary Mulvaney (Substitute)

Argyll and Bute Council Pippa Milne

City of Edinburgh Council Councillor Adam McVey
Clackmannanshire Council Councillor Ellen Forson

Clackmannanshire Council Nikki Bridle

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Councillor Roddie Mackay Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Tim Langley (Substitute) **Dumfries and Galloway Council** Councillor Gail Macgregor **Dumfries and Galloway Council** Councillor Rob Davidson **Dumfries and Galloway Council** Lorna Meahan (Substitute) **Dundee City Council** Councillor John Alexander **Dundee City Council** Robert Emmott (Substitute) East Ayrshire Council Councillor Douglas Reid

East Ayrshire Council Eddie Fraser

East Dunbartonshire Council Councillor Andrew Polson

East Dunbartonshire Council Gerry Cornes

East Lothian Council Councillor Stuart Currie

East Lothian Council Councillor Norman Hampshire

East Lothian Council Monica Patterson

East Renfrewshire Council

East Renfrewshire Council

Caroline Innes (Substitute)

Falkirk Council

Councillor Cecil Meiklejohn

Falkirk Council Kenneth Lawrie

Fife Council Councillor David Alexander

Fife Council Councillor David Ross

Fife Council Steve Grimmond

Glasgow City Council Councillor Richard Bell (Substitute)

Glasgow City Council Anne-Marie O'Donnell

Highland Council Councillor Margaret Davidson Inverclyde Council Councillor Stephen McCabe

Inverclyde Council Louise Long

Midlothian Council Councillor Russell Imrie (Substitute)

Midlothian Council Councillor Kelly Parry

Midlothian Council Grace Vickers

Moray Council Councillor Graham Leadbitter

North Ayrshire Council Councillor Joe Cullinane

North Ayrshire Council Craig Hatton

North Lanarkshire Council Councillor Paul Kelly (Substitute)

North Lanarkshire Council Des Murray

Orkney Islands Council Councillor James Stockan

Orkney Islands Council John Mundell

Perth and Kinross Council Councillor Murray Lyle

Perth and Kinross Council Barbara Renton

Renfrewshire Council Councillor Iain Nicolson

Scottish Borders Council Councillor Simon Mountford (Substitute)

Scottish Borders Council Clair Hepburn (Substitute)
Shetland Islands Council Councillor Steven Coutts
South Ayrshire Council Councillor Peter Henderson

South Ayrshire Council Eileen Howat

South Lanarkshire Council Councillor John Ross
South Lanarkshire Council Cleland Sneddon

Stirling Council Councillor Scott Farmer

Stirling Council Carol Beattie

West Dunbartonshire Council Councillor Jonathan McColl

West Dunbartonshire Council Joyce White

West Lothian Council Councillor Lawrence Fitzpatrick

West Lothian Council Graham Hope

Apologies

Argyll & Bute Council Councillor Robin Currie*
City of Edinburgh Council Councillor Melanie Main

City of Edinburgh Council

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

Dumfries & Galloway Council

Andrew Kerr

Malcolm Burr*

Gavin Stevenson*

Dundee City Council Gregory Colgan*

East Dunbartonshire Council Councillor Vaughan Moody

East Renfrewshire Council Lorraine McMillan*

Glasgow City Council Councillor Susan Aitken*

Highland Council Donna Manson

Highland Council

Midlothian Council

Midlothian Council

Midlothian Council

Councillor Kelly Parry

Councillor Derek Milligan*

Councillor Jim Logue*

Cokney Islands Council

Councillor Steven Heddle

Renfrewshire Council Sandra Black*

Scottish Borders Council Councillor Shona Haslam*

Scottish Borders Council Netta Meadows*

Private Session – Private and Confidential

1. Introduction

Cllr Alison Evison welcomed Leaders to the meeting and thanked everyone for their attendance at short notice. Apologies and substitutes were noted separately.

She noted the sad news of the passing of Cllr Willie Innes and indicated that she would say more at the next meeting on Friday.

2. Local Government Pay Negotiation update (verbal item)

Leaders were reminded that this item should be considered in absolute confidence to avoid undermining the ongoing negotiations with trade unions.

Councillor Gail Macgregor and COSLA officers provided an update on discussions that had taken place between COSLA and Scottish Government in the context of the current pay negotiations. Scottish Government had indicated that extra funding was likely to be made available for Covid recovery and that there would not be constraints on its use. Officers had also met with professional advisors to discuss the options available and obtain further information on expected costs.

Four potential options to resolve the pay dispute were presented, and discussion was invited with a view to reaching a decision. During that discussion, Leaders indicated a preference to take the information back to discuss within their councils and at Group meetings in advance of Friday's Leaders Meeting, where a final decision could be made.

Leaders noted that an announcement would take place in Parliament tomorrow, following which revised recommendations would be prepared and presented to Leaders for a final decision.

3. Date of Next Meeting - Friday, 29 October 2021

The date of the next ordinary meeting was noted.

^{*} denotes substitute provided

Cllr Evison thanked Leaders again for their	attendance at short notice,	and the meeting
was closed at 5.35pm.		