

LD/21/04

MINUTE OF MEETING OF LEADERS (DRAFT)

Tuesday, 5 January 2021 at 1400hrs Microsoft Teams

Present

COSLA President Councillor Alison Evison
COSLA Vice President Councillor Graham Houston

Aberdeen City Council Angela Scott

Aberdeen City Council Councillor Douglas Lumsden

Aberdeenshire Council Jim Savege

Aberdeenshire Council Councillor Andy Kille Angus Council Margo Williamson

Angus Council Councillor David Fairweather

Argyll and Bute Council Pippa Milne

Argyll and Bute Council Councillor Robin Currie

City of Edinburgh Council Andrew Kerr

City of Edinburgh Council Councillor Adam McVey

Clackmannanshire Council Nikkie Bridle

Clackmannanshire Council

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

Councillor Ellen Forson

Robert Emmott (Substitute)

Councillor Roddie Mackay

Dumfries and Galloway Council Andrew Reid

Dumfries and Galloway Council Councillor Elaine Murray (Substitute)

Dumfries and Galloway Council

COSLA Spokesperson

Dundee City Council

Dundee City Council

Councillor Gail Macgregor

Gregory Colgan (Substitute)

Councillor John Alexander

Councillor Douglas Reid

East Dunbartonshire Council Gerry Cornes

East Dunbartonshire Council Councillor Andrew Polson

East Lothian Council Monica Patterson

East Lothian Council

COSLA Spokesperson Councillor Stuart Currie

East Lothian Council Councillor Norman Hampshire (Substitute)

East Renfrewshire Council Lorraine McMillan

East Renfrewshire Council Councillor Tony Buchanan

Falkirk Council Kenneth Lawrie

Falkirk Council Councillor Cecil Meiklejohn

Fife Council Steve Grimmond

Fife Council Councillor David Alexander
Fife Council Councillor David Ross
Glasgow City Council Annemarie O'Donnell
Glasgow City Council Councillor Susan Aitken

Highland Council Donna Manson

Highland Council Councillor Margaret Davidson

Inverclyde Council Aubrey Fawcett

Inverclyde Council Councillor Stephen McCabe

Midlothian Council Dr Grace Vickers

Midlothian Council Councillor Russell Imrie (Substitute)

Midlothian Council

COSLA Spokesperson Councillor Kelly Parry
Moray Council Roderick Burns

Moray Council Councillor Graham Leadbitter

North Ayrshire Council Craig Hatton

North Ayrshire Council Councillor Joe Cullinane

North Lanarkshire Council Des Murray

North Lanarkshire Council Councillor Paul Kelly (Substitute)

Orkney Islands Council John Mundell

Orkney Islands Council Councillor James Stockan

Perth and Kinross Council Karen Reid

Pert and Kinross Council

Perth and Kinross Council

Councillor Peter Barrett

Councillor Murray Lyle

Renfrewshire Council Sandra Black

Renfrewshire Council Councillor Iain Nicolson
Scottish Borders Council David Robertson (Substitute)
Scottish Borders Council Councillor Shona Haslam
Shetland Islands Council Councillor Steven Coutts

South Ayrshire Council Eileen Howat

South Ayrshire Council Councillor Peter Henderson

South Lanarkshire Council Clealand Sneddon
South Lanarkshire Council Councillor John Ross

Stirling Council Carol Beattie

Stirling Council Councillor Scott Farmer

West Dunbartonshire Council Joyce White

West Dunbartonshire Council Councillor Jonathan McColl

West Lothian Council Graham Hope

West Lothian Council Councillor Lawrence Fitzpatrick

Apologies

City of Edinburgh Council Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Dumfries and Galloway Council Dumfries and Galloway Council

Dundee City Council East Ayrshire Council

East Dunbartonshire Council

East Lothian Council
Midlothian Council
North Langelshire Co

North Lanarkshire Council Orkney Islands Council COSLA Spokesperson Scottish Borders Council Shetland Islands Council Councillor Claire Miller

Malcolm Burr*
Gavin Stevenson*

Councillor Rob Davidson*

David Martin* Fiona Lees

Councillor Vaughan Moody Councillor William Innes* Councillor Derek Milligan* Councillor Jim Logue*

Councillor Steven Heddle

Tracey Logan*
Maggie Sandison

Guests

John Swinney MSP

Aileen Campbell MSP

Dr Gregor Smith Stephen Gallagher Stuart Johnston **Deputy First Minister**

Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Local

Government

Chief Medical Officer for Scotland

Scottish Government Officer Scottish Government Officer

^{*}Denotes substitute provided

Private Session

1. Introduction

The President welcomed those present and provided guidance on how the meeting would be conducted remotely using Microsoft Teams. Apologies and substitutes had been noted separately for the Minute.

2. First Minister's Announcement on COVID-19

Leaders had received a copy of the statement made on 4 January 2021 by the First Minister to the Scottish Parliament on the new COVID-19 lockdown measures which had come into effect from midnight. To assist with Leaders' questions on the detail and implications of what had been announced, the President welcomed to the meeting John Swinney MSP, Deputy First Minister and Aileen Campbell MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Local Government. Also joining the meeting from the Scottish Government were Dr Gregor Smith, Chief Medical Officer for Scotland, and officers, Stephen Gallagher and Stuart Johnston.

Before inviting questions, the President asked the Deputy First Minister to comment on what had been announced. Scottish Government officials responded to a range of Leaders' questions and noted points requiring further consideration and clarification.

The President thanked the Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for their attendance and willingness to answer questions.

Following the departure of Scottish Government representatives, Leaders raised several questions in the light of what had been discussed and suggested some areas for COSLA officers to consider taking forward.

Close

The President closed the meeting at 1540hrs by thanking Members for their attendance.