East Lothian Council

Chief Executive: 
Angela Leitch
Council Leader: 
Willie Innes
Civic Head: 
John McMillan
Political control: 
LAB Minority
John Muir House, Haddington, EH41 3HA
01620 827827

East Lothian Council logo

East Lothian is approximately 270 square miles in area and has 43 miles of coastline. Its boundaries extend from Musselburgh, immediately east of Edinburgh's suburban edge, eastwards to Dunbar and beyond to the Scottish Borders. From the coastline of the Firth of Forth, an agricultural plain extends southwards to the Lammermuir hills. The population of East Lothian is 104,090 (NRS - 2016).