Civic heads

Each local authority elects a civic leader, the Provost or Convenor, who chairs council meetings and acts as a ceremonial figurehead for the area. In the cities of Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dundee, the Provost is known as the Lord Provost.

A Civic Head chart can be downloaded here.

Councilsort icon Civic Head
Aberdeen City Council Barney Crockett
Aberdeenshire Council Bill Howatson
Angus Council Ronnie Proctor
Argyll and Bute Council Len Scoullar
City of Edinburgh Council Frank Ross
Clackmannanshire Council Tina Murphy
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Norman A MacDonald
Dumfries and Galloway Council Tracey Little
Dundee City Council Ian Borthwick
East Ayrshire Council Jim Todd
East Dunbartonshire Council Alan Brown
East Lothian Council John McMillan
East Renfrewshire Council Jim Fletcher
Falkirk Council William Buchanan
Fife Council Jim Leishman
Glasgow City Council Eva Bolander
Highland Council Bill Lobban
Inverclyde Council Martin Brennan
Midlothian Council Vacant
Moray Council Shona Morrison
North Ayrshire Council Ian Clarkson
North Lanarkshire Council Jean Jones
Orkney Islands Council Harvey Johnston
Perth and Kinross Council Dennis Melloy
Renfrewshire Council Lorrain Cameron
Scottish Borders Council David Parker
Shetland Islands Council Malcolm Bell
South Ayrshire Council Helen Moonie
South Lanarkshire Council Ian McAllan
Stirling Council Christine Simpson
West Dunbartonshire Council William Hendrie
West Lothian Council Tom Kerr