Civic heads

Each local authority elects a civic leader, the Provost or Convenor, who chairs council meetings and acts as a ceremonial figurehead for the area. In the cities of Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dundee, the Provost is known as the Lord Provost.

A Civic Head chart can be downloaded here.

Councilsort icon Civic Head
West Lothian Council Tom Kerr
West Dunbartonshire Council William Hendrie
Stirling Council Christine Simpson
South Lanarkshire Council Ian McAllan
South Ayrshire Council Helen Moonie
Shetland Islands Council Malcolm Bell
Scottish Borders Council David Parker
Renfrewshire Council Lorrain Cameron
Perth and Kinross Council Dennis Melloy
Orkney Islands Council Harvey Johnston
North Lanarkshire Council Jean Jones
North Ayrshire Council Ian Clarkson
Moray Council Shona Morrison
Midlothian Council Vacant
Inverclyde Council Martin Brennan
Highland Council Bill Lobban
Glasgow City Council Eva Bolander
Fife Council Jim Leishman
Falkirk Council William Buchanan
East Renfrewshire Council Jim Fletcher
East Lothian Council John McMillan
East Dunbartonshire Council Alan Brown
East Ayrshire Council Jim Todd
Dundee City Council Ian Borthwick
Dumfries and Galloway Council Tracey Little
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Norman A MacDonald
Clackmannanshire Council Tina Murphy
City of Edinburgh Council Frank Ross
Argyll and Bute Council Len Scoullar
Angus Council Ronnie Proctor
Aberdeenshire Council Bill Howatson
Aberdeen City Council Barney Crockett